top of page

BYU Football

One of the most storied and historically rich programs in the nation, BYU Football is an Independent Power Five team has claims to 76 All-Americans, winners of the Doak Walker, Maxwell, Outland, Davey O'Brien, Coach of the Year and Heisman Trophies, seven players and a coach in the College Football Hall of Fame, and the 1984 National Championship. 

Over the past 40 years, BYU has ranked consistently as a Top 25 team, finishing the season in that group 16 times. The Cougars have posted 16 ten win seasons including a 14-1, 13-0 and multiple 12-1 seasons. 

BYU Football has played in the Rocky Mountain Conference, Skyline Conference, the Western Athletic Conference, Mountain West and now are Independent but considered a Power Five opponent by most major conferences. Through their 92 seasons as a member of a conference, the Cougars won 23 Conference Championships. 

BYU Football also has a rich line of memorable moments including the Miracle Bowl in 1980, Eddie Stinnett to Steve Young in the 1983 Holiday Bowl, Kyle Morrell diving over the Hawaii line on a goal line stand, Doman to Pittman on 4th and 13, Beck to Harline 2008 vs Utah, Riley Nelson's comeback win against Utah State, Taysom Leap against Texas, back to back hail mary wins against Nebraska and Boise State and of course the 1984 National Championship.

bottom of page